Membership

Who can join ABTAPL?

The short answer is anybody who has an interest in the subjects! It is not essential to be working in a library, let alone one specialising in theology or philosophy, or to have trained as an information professional. Neither are we restricted to the head of the library / information service, whatever the titled field. Many of our members work in professional isolation, so sharing experiences from a wide range of disciplines does much to lift professional horizons. Some of our members have spent all their working lives in a specialist library, others have transferred from the public service; some have bookselling experience, or carry library responsibilities because they lecture in theology or philosophy. All are welcome in ABTAPL. The only membership qualification is to have an interest in the bibliography, librarianship or management of our specialist subjects.

Discounts available to members

Libraries who are members of ABTAPL are able to receive /negotiate discounts from selected publishers for books and journals subscriptions. For a listing of possible discounts, please contact the ABTAPL Honorary Secretary (see the list below).

How to join ABTAPL

For those interested in joining ABTAPL, we have provided details of membership types and costs on an online membership form which can then be printed. Download the file from this link ABTAPL membership application form or use this one from a web page ( HTML format ).

ABTAPL Committee Members

Chairman: Dr. Carol Reekie, Library Consultant
(E-mail: creekie37@gmail.com)
Honorary Secretary: Revd. Emma Walsh, Regents Park College Library, Pusey Street, Oxford OX1 2LB
(E-mail: emma.walsh@regents.ox.ac.uk )
Treasurer: Donald Mitchell, Wales Evangelical School of Theology, Bryntirion, Bridgend CF31 4DX
(E-mail:
dmitchell@ust.ac.uk Tel 01656 641989)
Honorary Editor: Richard Johnson, Qoheleth Resources, Kingsbury House, Main Road, Withern, Alford, Lincolnshire, LN13 0LD
(E-mail:
richard@qohelethresources.co.uk)
Conference Secretary: Gudrun Warren, Norwich Cathedral, The Chapter Office, 65 The Close, Norwich NR1 4DH
(E-mail:
gwarren@cathedral.org.uk )
Elected Members: Sally Gibbs, Regents Theological College, West Malvern Rd, West Malvern WR14 4AY
(E-mail:
sally.gibbs@regents-tc.ac.uk)
Dr Penelope Hall, Edinburgh
Chris Leftley, Wycliffe Hall Library, 54 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6PW.
(E-mail:chris.leftley@wycliffe.ox.ac.uk)

Helen Stocker, Nazarene Theological College, Dene Road, Didsbury, Manchester, M20 2GU.
(Email: hstocker@nazarene.ac.uk, Tel: 0161 438 1927)